A Beginner's Guide to the 7 Chakras

A Beginner's Guide to the 7 Chakras

by Toni Tomlin on Oct 18, 2020

A Beginner's Guide to the 7 Chakras

Hello Beautiful Soul!

So you want to learn more about the Chakras. Well you've come to the right place!

You've heard the word...but what is a Chakra?  And what does it mean for you?  
We're so glad you made it here to find out more. We are going to give you a practical guide of the chakra system and guide you through understanding how they relate to your emotions, which lead to your decisions, and ultimately your actions.



What are Chakras?

In the Sanskrit language, the word Chakra means "Wheel", pertaining to Prana: the life force energy that spins and rotates within and around you. We know that everything is made up of energy, and so are you! The chakras are a guide to help you understand what subtle body energies you have. In and around your body, there are 7 main centers of energy, known as the Chakras. They begin at the base of your spine and travel all the way up to the top of your head. Each Chakra, as seen in the image above, has a color, meaning, symbol, health focus, and affirmation. To function at their best, your chakras need to stay open, or balanced. If they get blocked, you may experience physical or emotional symptoms related to a particular chakra.

Have you ever felt like something in your life seemed a little off balance? When one bad day turns into a bad week, and it just seems to be one thing after another? Maybe you sit back and reflect, but can't quite figure out why everything just feels so...off?

Have you ever experienced the same problem at work, in a relationship, or in your life over and over? Do you wonder why the same problems keep arising and persisting in your life?

Or, have you ever been in a situation where you took everything too personal? Those around you would perhaps think that you're overreacting, but you don't see it. In the quiet moments of your day, when you reflect on the situation, you can't seem to put your finger on it, but you feel there's something else going on.

This could be a sign of one (or more) of your Chakras being imbalanced.


Throughout this blog series, we'll be diving into that a little more, and explain ways to bring balance and alignment into your Chakras and into your life. Now that we’ve covered the basis, let's continue with an overview of each Chakra, its color association, its location in your body, the element that influences each chakra, and what they mean. We’ll finish each section with a mantra that can be used when activating that chakra.


So take a deep breath, expand your mind, and let's dive right in!


The 7 Main Chakras:

  #1 The Root Chakra | Muladhara

Stability. Grounding. Safety.

When you feel stable, grounded, and safe, you can flourish. If there are imbalances in your first chakra, you might feel fearful, anxious, low self-esteem, unstable, and uncertain. If you're balanced in the Root Chakra, you will feel supported, stable, grounded, and secure.

Color: Red

Location: Base of spine/Sacrum

Element: Earth

Mantra: I Am.


#2 The Sacral Chakra | Svadisthana

Creativity. Pleasure. Spaciousness.

When you are open to all of life's emotions and physical sensations, you can continue to grow. If there are imbalances in the second chakra, you may feel shame, guilt, self-conscious, or lack the ability to feel or express emotion. If you're balanced in the Sacral Chakra, you will feel enthusiasm for life, pleasure, sensuality, sexual, joy, excitement, and creativity.

Color: Orange

Location: Lower Abdomen/ Pelvic Floor

Element: Water 

Mantra: I Feel.


#3 The Solar Plexus | Manipura

Empowerment. Confidence. Purpose.

When you feel confident and empowered, there is no limit to what you can do. If there are imbalances in the third chakra, you may feel that you lack a sense of purpose, unenthusiastic, unenergetic, struggle with feeling empowered, may not feel a sense of belonging or have a clear vision of your identity. If you're balanced in the Solar Plexus, you will feel confident, empowered, upbeat, energetic, and encouraging to others. 

Color: Yellow

Location: Center of the Belly/Above the navel & below the sternum

Element: Fire

Mantra: I Do.


#4 The Heart Chakra | Anahata

Unconditional Love. Acceptance. Compassion.

When you are connected to your heart center, you are able to give and receive love freely to yourself and others. If there are imbalances in the fourth chakra, you may feel stuck emotionally, lack compassion, unable to feel or express gratitude, trouble grieving or feeling, experience fear of commitment, anger, inability to love. If you're balanced in the Heart Chakra, you will feel compassionate, loving, gratitude, giving, supportive, and expressive.

Color: Green

Location: Center of the Heart

Element: Air

Mantra: I Love.


# 5 The Throat Chakra | Vishuddha

Self Expression. Truth. Authenticity.

When you are able to communicate clearly, effectively, and efficiently, then all of your needs can be met. If there are imbalances in the fifth chakra, you may feel unable to speak your needs, feel like you don't have a voice, shy away from speaking your truth, hide your light and talents, or lack self expression. If you're balanced in the Throat Chakra, you will be able to speak clearly, feel expressive and vocal, and be authentic in your unique light. 

Color: Blue

Location: Throat

Element: Air

Mantra: I Speak.


#6 The Third Eye Chakra | Ajna

Intuition. Wisdom. Boundless.

When you are able to listen to your inner knowing and intuition, life can flow in the direction of your purpose. If there are imbalances in the sixth chakra, you may have trouble making decisions, ignore your gut feelings, lack imagination, have trouble manifesting, stuck in the past, and feel disconnected to yourself, others, and lack a sense of spirituality.  If you're balanced in the Third Eye Chakra, you will feel connected to the spiritual world, able to easily listen to your intuition and trust it's wisdom with your life decisions, and manifest easily.

Color: Indigo

Location: Between the Eyebrows/ Connected to Pituitary Gland

Element: Light

Mantra: I See.


#7 The Crown Chakra | Sahasrara

Spirituality. Higher Consciousness. Enlightenment.

When you have an open mind, you can expand your knowledge, connect to the spiritual world around you, and feel as sense of connection to your consciousness.  If there are imbalances in your seventh chakra, you may experience loneliness, detachment, confusion, frustration, memory loss, depression, and a loss of faith. If you're balanced in your Crown Chakra, you will feel the divine energy flowing through you, feel a connection to the spiritual world, feel peace and gratitude, and a sense of Oneness.

Color: Violet

Location: Top of the Head/Connected to Pineal Gland

Element: Ether

Mantra: I Know.


So you still have more questions, right? Don't worry, we will continue to be your guide and will dive in to each Chakra, provide tips to notice imbalances, practical ways to find balance, and give you the tools to begin to live a life of alignment, harmony, fulfillment, and peace.


In the meantime, enjoy this brief 17 minute Chakra Healing Guided Meditation.

Be at Peace.

Related Articles